top of page

Our Last Day at the Ndejje Dorms

Post for June 29, 2018

 

This day was mostly for packing. I had my last breakfast in the dining hall, did my last load of laundry, and possibly rode on my last boda boda.

In the morning we had a tour from one of the German researchers also working at Ndejje. We visited their site where they are converting dried corn into charcoal. It is a more environmentally friendly source of energy compared to the coal they make locally. He had said that this coal burns more quickly and is more expensive, but they tried to make it clear how much healthier this stuff was. On my first day here, Dr. Cathorall had mentioned the problem with air quality here and I can now understand why this was so important to him.

A little sad to be moving on. We made some great friends here and so many people were crying in the dorms.

I also want to thank everyone Ndejje University from the bottom of my heart for being so kind and welcoming to us. I have never met so many warm and generous people and I’ll remember my time at your school forever!

bottom of page